Twelve nominated for Osoyoos Council seats

Ten candidates are in the race for four Osoyoos council seats after nominations closed this afternoon for October’s  municipal elections.

Among the 10 are incumbents C.J. Rhodes and Jim King; two other incumbents — Mike Campol and Carol Youngberg — are not seeking re-election.

Meanwhile, Mayor Sue McKortoff has a much easier route to re-election, with just one challenger, Doug Peterson.

Other candidates for Council include Kenny Music, Sy Murseli, Jane Long, Shelley McIntyre, Myers Bennett, Brian Harvey, Egon Neilsen and Shirani Theophilus.

The Town also administers water councillor races for Rural District Water Systems 8 and 9.

Entered to sit as water councillors are incumbents Sarabjit Rai and Claude Moreira and challenger Kuldeep Dhaliwal.

Three candidates have declared their intentions to seek two Osoyoos and area seats on the seven-member Okanagan-Similkameen School District board.

They include incumbent Casey Brouwer and challengers Brenda Dorosz and Penny Duperron.

The Osoyoos seats are the lone SD53 board positions being contested.

Five other seats will likely be filled by acclamation, with Board Chair Rob Zandee and Rachel Allenbrand the lone contestants in Oliver, Myrna Coates and Debra Marten nominated in the Similkameen, and Janice Stevens the lone candidate in Okanagan Falls.

In the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen’s Area “A,” incumbent Mark Pendergraft is the sole nominee, according to information provided by Elections BC.

The 2018 election will be held on Saturday, October 20. Polling will take place at the Sonora Community Centre from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Two advance voting opportunities will be held at the Town of Osoyoos Council Chamber on Wednesday, October 10, and Wednesday, October 17, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.