Dianne Watts holds a commanding lead in the race to become the new leader of the BC Liberal Party, according to poll results released this week.

Main Street Research puts the former Surrey mayor at 30 per cent support, followed by former cabinet ministers Andrew Wilkinson (21 per cent) and Todd Stone (20 per cent).

Further down the list were Mike de Jong (16 per cent), Michael Lee (11 per cent) and Sam Sullivan (2 per cent).

“The BC Liberal race appears to be one that will be hard to call, with many strong candidates in the field,” Main Street president Quito Maggi said in a release.

“While we do not have a complete membership list, we think that this leadership race will see a multi-ballot scenario determining the winner.”

The poll, which questioned 340 people earlier this month, used lists of federal Conservative and Liberal voters to come up with the sample. It is considered accurate within 5.3 per cent 19 times out of 20.

BC Liberals will vote for their new leader Feb. 1-3.

— Penticton Herald


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.