New Council sits down for first meeting today

It’ll be anything but business as usual as a new Osoyoos Council sits down this afternoon for the first time.

Mayor Sue McKortoff and her four councillors will open the 2 p.m. meeting not in their customary Council chairs but in the gallery, says Janette Van Vianen, the Town’s Director of Corporate Services and keeper of the town’s protocol bible.

“I will open the meeting at two and will swear in all of the Council-elect,” she explained. “They will take their seat at the Council table as they are sworn in, but will be in the gallery until then.

“Then the mayor will take over as chair.”

READ MORE: McKortoff back with two new councillors

The meeting’s agenda suggests the business of the day will focus on how the Council will conduct its business.

It will first hear a report from Ms. Van Vianen on how they were each elected to office, then will likely set a schedule for Council meetings that involves 22 dates in 2019.

Council will also set an Acting Mayor schedule and determine who will be representing the Town on the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen and Okanagan Regional Library boards.

Councillors will also determine which of them will sit on established special and standing committees.

The four Council members — incumbents CJ Rhodes and Jim King and newcomers Brian Harvey and Myers Bennett — will then have their first opportunity to make reports to the community.

Mayor McKortoff will make her own report before adjourning the initial meeting.

The session, to be held at the Town of Osoyoos office in Council chambers, is open to residents and others and is also available for viewing on the Town’s website.

Council will get an in-depth look at its responsibilities and obligations, how local government functions and introductions to various Town managers and staff and a special session Wednesday morning.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.