Nine in race so far for Osoyoos Council positions

Citizens wanting to run in local elections held across BC October 20 have until 4 p.m. this afternoon to officially enter the race.

In Osoyoos, that means delivering in person, by mail, delivery service or by fax a nomination package to the Town of Osoyoos office — and specifically Chief Returning Officer Janette Van Vianen or Brianne Hillson, the Deputy Chief Election Officer.

As of 5 p.m. Thursday evening, two candidates are in the race for Mayor and seven more for Council positions.

Incumbent Mayor Sue McKortoff currently has Doug Pederson as a challenger.

Vying for Council positions are incumbents C.J. Rhodes and Jim King and challengers Kenny Music, Sy Murseli, Jane Long, Shelley McIntyre and Myers Bennett.

The Town also administers water councillor races for Rural District Water Systems 8 and 9.

Entered to sit as water councillors are incumbents Sarabjit Rai and Claude Moreira and challenger Kuldeep Dhaliwal.

Three candidates have declared their intentions to seek two Osoyoos and area seats on the seven-member Okanagan-Similkameen School District board.

They include incumbent Casey Brouwer and challengers Brenda Dorosz and Penny Duperron.

In the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen’s Area “A,” incumbent Mark Pendergraft is the sole nominee, according to information provided by Elections BC.

OsoyoosToday will provide updated information after nominations close this afternoon.


  1. It’s terrific to see so many candidates step forward for this year’s election. It shows the community truly cares about what is happening and what they want to see happen in Osoyoos. It also provides the community members with choices to vote for those that hold similar ideas and values for the community.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.