May 30, 2024


Complete Canadian News World

Omigron | US, Canada and EU close borders to South Africa due to Omigran variation | NNDC | The world

The United States, Canada and the European Union (EU) announced on Friday that they would close borders for travelers from South African countries in response to the appearance of the Omigron variant of the corona virus.

Government of Joe Biden He said that the people of South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Swatini (Or Swaziland), Mozambique and Malawi will be banned from entering the United States from Monday.

Citizens and permanent residents only United States A senior official who spoke anonymously said they could enter the country from those countries.

‚ÄúThis policy was implemented as a precautionary measure in light of the new variant of COVID-19 spreading in South Africa.“He explained that experts and U.S. public health officials were working quickly to obtain additional data on Omigron.

“President Biden has vowed to take all necessary steps to keep Americans safe and to fight the epidemic, and this is an action recommended by the US Government Medical Experts and the COVID-19 Response Team.”, He promised.

Canada and Europe They also banned travelers from the same South African countries from entering the country this Friday. Malawi.

“We must act quickly to protect Canadians.”, The Minister of Health explained at the press conference. Jean-Yves Douglas, When reporting restrictions for seven countries.

The World Health Organization (WHO) said on Friday B.1.1.529 strain Corona virusFirst announced by South Africa on November 24, a “Variation of Anxiety”, And named it Omigron.

Recommended video